Skip to content
Black Bean and Barbecue Shredded Pork Tacos

March 5, 2013
tags: ,

taco3

I love one pot dinners because there are hardly any dishes to do. I loathe dish duty. Recently, on a work-from-home day I got a pork roast going in the crockpot and it turned into meat tacos that evening. These were easy to whip up at dinner time and made the house smell amazing all day as the pork simmered away.

I like to make my own barbecue sauce, I’ve included my recipe below, but to be honest it changes every time I make it because I am always throwing something else in.

One more thing, flour tortillas are great, but the texture of corn tortilla in this recipe is really great. If you like this post, then check out my other recipes here.

Serving:

  • 8 tacos

Preparation:

  • 4-6 hours of slow cooker time, 15 minutes to assemble

Tools:

  • Slow cooker/ crockpot

Ingredients:

Pork:

  • 4 lb pork roast de-thawed (shoulder roast works well)

Sauce:

  • 1/2 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tbsp of black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp of paprika
  • 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Toppings:

  • 8-10 corn tortillas
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 1 handful of chopped cilantro
  • 1 cup of guacamole
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 cup fresh (pico) salsa
  • 2 cups chopped lettuce

Directions:

  1. Put the pork roast in the crockpot on low/medium.
  2. Combine sauce ingredients in a medium-sized bowl and whisk.
  3. Add sauce ingredients to crock pot.
  4. Pork is done when it can easily be pulled apart or shredded with two forks. This may depend on your crock pot, but the longer you leave it in the better, about 4-6 hours, but 8 hours if you can wait that long.
  5. After 4-6 hours, shred/ pull apart the pork in the crock pot and remove any bones.
  6. Steam the corn tortillas or heat them up in the microwave for 10 seconds.
  7. Assemble with toppings and enjoy.

taco4

20130204-103508.jpg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    December 17, 2013 10:42 AM

    FINALLY tried this recipe. Delicious! After I got done making the BBQ sauce, salsa, guac, and cleaning up/shredding the pork–I realized it was a bit more labor intensive than I thought, but well worth the effort!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. March 6, 2013 8:35 AM

    Those look soooooo delicious!

  3. March 6, 2013 5:10 AM

    That looks delicious. I’ll have to try it.

  4. March 5, 2013 11:29 PM

    Oh man, those look delicious. I always look forward to your posts, Rachel!

  5. Rita permalink
    March 5, 2013 8:00 PM

    Yummy! Will have to try these on our next taco Tuesday! !

    • March 5, 2013 8:03 PM

      I want to come to taco Tuesday 🙂 I will have to make your Chile Rellenos recipe soon (I think I spelled that correctly).

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

