Skip to content
Is It Tile? Is It Wood?

January 13, 2013
tags:

Hey Everyone! Thank you for stopping by.

If you are looking for the link to where you can purchase the tile, scroll through the post. The picture of a single tile is a link and I also have one in text.

If you like what you see here, check out the rest of the blog, and LIKE me on Facebook, or FOLLOW ME on Twitter or Instagram (Click the colored words in this line, or use the buttons in the right margin).

Thanks!

Yeah, so I am one of those DIYers who is inspired to start new projects in the anticipation of an event. So, naturally, when our annual Christmas party was 4 days away, I promptly decided it was time to demo the basement bathroom and install new tile.

IMG_5640

Did we get it done in time? Of course not!

Was the toilet functioning? No, why would we want to have two functioning toilets the day of a party?

Haha, I give myself an A for effort though 🙂

The floor is finished now, so let me take you through the project.

Do you remember the basement bathroom expansion? The basement was cinder block walls and a concrete floor before we finished it (before and after photos are here). The only thing in the basement (other than the boiler, water heater, and a laundry sink) was a finished 1/2 bath. Our house is tiny, so I understand why the previous home owners felt the need to add a bathroom.

We decided to make the 1/2 bath into a full bath, and bumped out the wall to add a tub. This resulted in an awkward space where the old tile ended and the rest of the concrete floor began. I wanted a clean, even look for the party – got what I wanted, just 2 days later.

basement bathroom tile before

The whole room was sort of blah blah white blah.

IMG_5386

The tile floor came up with a hammer and chisel.

Did I mention I started this project while my hubby was at work, and without his knowledge? Best way to start a large project in my house – demolish everything before he gets home, so we have no choice but to fix it by the time he shows up 🙂

IMG_5393

I originally thought we would do a more traditional tile. I was checking out white marble basket weave (love), but the basement is a little bit contemporary. I matched the doors to the rest of the house and love how they turned out, but the basement is carpeted and has white trim, so I went with a new fresh tile choice: Wood-look tile.

097518290658lg

I could not be happier with the results! We picked the tile up a big box store here.

before

IMG_5389

afterIMG_5629

beforeIMG_5387

IMG_5636

IMG_5641 IMG_5639 IMG_5632 IMG_5630

The marble threshold was easy to do. We glued down a tack strip to the concrete floor, and followed the great step-by-step I found here.

IMG_5628

The bathroom isn’t done yet. We plan to:

  • Tile the shower
  • Replace the sink
  • Install a medicine cabinet/new mirror
  • Change the sink light fixture.

I’m excited to finish the project up, and have another full bath for guests to use. Let’s hope I can keep the momentum going.

blog signature

85 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria figueroa permalink
    April 26, 2016 10:42 PM

    Love it, I wish I could be that daring just the rip it out. I love the grey with that tile.

  2. February 4, 2016 10:01 AM

    What makes the floor so shiny went to Home Depot did not see it in a shine just a flat look?

    • February 4, 2016 11:19 AM

      Hmmm…i don’t know if it is just glare from the flash. It is not really shiny in person. Which I think is good, because it looks more like real wood.

  3. Paj Huab permalink
    December 3, 2015 10:02 PM

    Very nice! Where did you get the marble threshold and what is the color? Looking for something exactly like it.

  4. Jennifer permalink
    October 2, 2015 11:55 AM

    Hi, I was wondering what colour threshold would go well transitioning the wood like tile from the hallway to the kitchen?

  5. Chris permalink
    July 15, 2015 1:17 PM

    What brand is the flooring?

  6. Patricia permalink
    January 30, 2015 7:16 PM

    How can the floor tile not have grout lines? Doesn’t all tile have grout?

  7. January 11, 2015 8:04 PM

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the mirror tell me where I can find. And the redo of the bathroom looks great. Am going this weekend to look for the wood looking tile.

  8. Amanda permalink
    January 17, 2014 12:54 PM

    How do you clean it? Lysol or similiar?

  9. Patrick Coberley permalink
    October 8, 2013 10:42 PM

    Great first effort, I install tile for a living and the wood look is getting more prevalent.. Note the stagger should be more like 1/3 instead of 1/2 especially in larger spaces and always use a 1/2″ trowel so that the ‘thinset bed ” fully supports all tile underneath. The reason for less stagger is that ALL large format tiles have slight bow and if you don’t, you end up with a basket weave effect and noticeable lippage. Also, most of the wood look tiles need no more than 1/16 grout lines and as dark a grout as the darkest spot on tile to give most realistic wood look.

  10. Melissa permalink
    September 23, 2013 2:47 PM

    Looks awesome. We put the same floor I. Out living and family room. Now just trying to figure out what to use to clean it.

  11. Abbe permalink
    September 22, 2013 10:48 PM

    What color grout did you use and what size grout Line did you use?

  12. Karyn permalink
    September 17, 2013 8:15 AM

    I couldn’t find the link for the tile/wood. Can you please send the link to me? Do you think this would look good in the living room? You did a great job!!

  13. Kimberley permalink
    August 25, 2013 8:48 PM

    love it! we put this same tile below are fireplace. I love the color on the wall. do you what it’s called?

  14. June 19, 2013 1:34 PM

    beautiful. what brand/color did you paint the new walls with? I love the color. also, (I’m at work) can’t email anymore; lunch is over but what type of floor tile is it? Is it tile? or vinyl?

  15. Heather luck permalink
    June 7, 2013 1:00 AM

    I just put wood tile in my bathroom today and love it !

  16. May 1, 2013 6:12 PM

    Your bathroom is lovely… I would like to make a suggestion. Never put a mirror over the back of the stool. Not good for when a man is standing there. Don’t want to watch themselves at that moment…Just a thought….

    • Aleah permalink
      May 8, 2013 7:27 PM

      I don’t know about the word never. I think a mirror above the stool is fine. I have one and well… during the times my husband is using the “stool” I don’t think my husband minds looking at himself… lol

  17. April 6, 2013 11:42 AM

    Wow, beautiful! Just what I was looking for! My bathroom is about the same size as yours, how many boxes/tiles did you buy?

    • April 9, 2013 7:43 AM

      I think we purchased 3 or 4 boxes. To get an accurate amount, we measured the square footage, and divided it by the number of sqft in each box. We added 10% to the total sqft to a count for broken tiles, or messed up cuts.

  18. Kathy permalink
    April 5, 2013 12:07 PM

    Great Reno! I love the door and hardware too. Can you tell me more about it?

    • April 9, 2013 7:44 AM

      I purchased the doors and hardware from a local salvage shop. There is a post on the blog if you search door hardware. It was easy to install. Thanks for stopping by!

  19. April 3, 2013 12:24 PM

    Love the wood tile. Looks great!

  20. April 3, 2013 10:53 AM

    The floors look so good with the wall color. I mentioned this to my husband but we don’t where to install it.

  21. bonita garza permalink
    March 26, 2013 10:14 AM

    what color did you use on the walls? great remodel

  22. Jessie permalink
    March 14, 2013 12:29 PM

    I just bought the same floor but I cant figure out which grout color to use. what did you use?

    • March 14, 2013 12:38 PM

      So excited for you! I will check the brand/color of grout and get back to you this evening.

      Thanks for asking,

      Rachel

      Sent from my iPhone

    • kathryn permalink
      March 17, 2013 6:06 PM

      Tobacco brown is what Lowe’s had demonstrated with their wood tile.

  23. February 28, 2013 3:18 PM

    Your bathroom look great! I love your wood tile floors.

    • March 1, 2013 10:21 AM

      Thank you 🙂 It seems to be a huge hit!

      • March 1, 2013 10:22 AM

        If you scroll up there are two separate links to the website where you can purchase the tile. One “here” and the other if you actually click on the tile photo. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  24. Lisa permalink
    February 27, 2013 9:55 AM

    Can you tell me where you got the tile? I LOVE IT and have a small bathroom here in my home I would love to put this in! Thanks!

    • March 1, 2013 10:23 AM

      If you scroll up there are two separate links to the website where you can purchase the tile. One “here” and the other if you actually click on the tile photo. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  25. Brenda permalink
    February 26, 2013 10:22 PM

    Where did you get the beautiful mirrors for your bathroom??

  26. February 23, 2013 9:55 AM

    Am loving the “wood” floor. What brand is the tile?

  27. Reagen permalink
    February 21, 2013 10:03 PM

    Love this!! Where did you get your tile?

  28. February 18, 2013 10:04 AM

    Thank you for taking the time to post this. I am especially appreciative of the before and after photos.
    I have a bathroom to complete in my newly purchased home that was in foreclosure. I love bathrooms with Carrara marble flooring but can’t commit myself to the sealing maintenance it requires. I also like the contrast of a dark floor with some white cabinetry and Carrara tops. I love your flooring choice which is also more economical than Carrara marble. Good job, it really looks great. Thanks again!

  29. January 29, 2013 1:34 AM

    Impressive transformation! I’m in love with the tile. The colors and wood tile really compliment each other. Bravo!

    • January 31, 2013 7:37 PM

      Gratzi!

      • Jan permalink
        February 24, 2013 12:49 AM

        Please tell us what brand of tile you used and from where you purchased it. I love it.

        • March 1, 2013 10:24 AM

          If you scroll up there are two separate links to the website where you can purchase the tile. One “here” and the other if you actually click on the tile photo. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  30. January 26, 2013 8:45 AM

    Did you grout the floor or just lay the tiles right next to each other hard to tell from the pic. Looks great!

  31. Elizabeth permalink
    January 21, 2013 7:11 AM

    Wow, LOVE that tile! The whole color combo and fixtures of this bathroom is just beautiful, a huge inspiration for me when I need to redo a bathroom. I’m just loving those mirrors! Where did you purchase them????

  32. January 16, 2013 5:55 PM

    wow I love it! You did a great job.

  33. January 15, 2013 12:20 AM

    Rachel, it looks gorgeous! 🙂 I want to come visit so I can stay and use the pretty bathroom! 😉

  34. January 14, 2013 8:48 PM

    I LOVE this! You did such an amazing job! I am a huge fan of the wall color with the silver accents and the dark floor. 🙂

    • January 27, 2013 10:51 AM

      Gracious! The blue is a BM color, more Tiffany blue in real life. I need to invest in a real camera that can capture colors better than my phone.

  35. January 14, 2013 3:37 PM

    It looks fantastic! I love the wood look tile floor- it seems warmer than just a standard tile. I really love that stained door too! Gorgeous!

  36. January 14, 2013 10:32 AM

    Wow! I love it. I’ve never seen floor board tiles installed before (I’ve seen them at tile stores). Looks perfect for that space. Big improvement.

  37. January 14, 2013 8:44 AM

    LOVE the tile you picked! The bathroom looks fantastic!

  38. January 13, 2013 6:02 PM

    Nice work! I like all the nickel/shiny accessories, too.

    • January 13, 2013 10:02 PM

      Thanks 🙂 I almost went with chrome because it’s more period appropriate, but I’m happy with the nickel.

  39. January 13, 2013 4:52 PM

    I love it! It looks modern without seeming cold. I actually just put in the same style floor in my master bathroom on Friday night. If it turns out half as well as your bathroom I’ll be thrilled.

  40. Ashley permalink
    January 13, 2013 2:11 PM

    It looks really really great! The colour works perfectly with the stained door and the colour of the walls.

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen Island 4 X 6 - modernkitchens.kim
  2. Kitchen Tile Inspiration and Installation | A Home In College Hill
  3. Tiles that look like wood but have the durability of tile for a bathroom. Available at Lowes….pretty – Home Decor
  4. Tiles that look like wood but have the durability of tile for a bathroom. Available at Lowes. | interiors-designed.com
  5. pinteresting wednesday | My Thirty-Something Life
  6. Week 17: Friday Favorites | The Cookin' Chemist
  7. Decisions, Decisions: Shower Tile « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

