Skip to content
DIY Christmas Tree Skirt

December 13, 2012

Make a custom tree skirt to match your decor. Depending on the fabric and trim you use, it can be done for $30-$60 plus bragging rights. 😉

IMG_5344

If you can sew a straight stitch on a sewing machine and know how to switch from a flat sole foot to a zipper foot – then you can do this. Don’t let the jargon hamper your attempt:

Flat Foot

viking_zipperEpin_4123226-01_med.jpg

Zipper Foot

SNAP ON, SNAP OFF or TWIST ON, TWIST OFF (depending on the type of machine you have) It’s that easy.

DOWN TO BUSINESS

I need to catch you up to where I started on the project. I made a half-ass tree skirt a few years ago out of a curtain I had made for an old apartment. So I started this project half way through.

  • You start with a large square of material 5′ x 5′ would be good. Most fabrics don’t come in this width, so you may need to join two pieces. Easy-peasy: just straight stitch to seams together, and press the seam.
  • Fold the fabric in half and cut into a semi-circle. See below (fold on dotted line).treeskirt 2
  • To give your skirt some weight I suggest lining it in felt. Lining is easy too, think of a pillow case. Lay the two pieces of fabric on top of each other, matching up the sides and sew along the edge. Don’t worry about the raw edges, they will be covered by the trim.
  • Now you need to cut the slit for the tree trunk. I suggest the slit go past the center of the skirt. I tried it right in the middle, and when placed around the tree, the skirt was too short in the back. Also, make more of a notch than a slit because the tree trunk is probably 3-6 inches thick, and a notch will slip around it more easily. Sew down the edges of the slit/notch. You can cover the raw edge in gimp, or you can roll the raw edge under when you sew it down.
  • If the middle is the dotted line, cut the slit like this:tree skirt 1
  • So now you have something like this (before I lengthened the notch) Notice the seam along the middle where I joined the fabric pieces. Also, it was a curtain so there is random gold banding along the bottom:

tree skirt

  • By the way, what can I say? I like red and gold. It may not be your cup of tea. You could do this same project with a fun chevron print – it doesn’t have to be traditional. It would probably look amazing in a contemporary print.
  • All that is left to do is add the trim or gimp. I picked three different kinds. You will need about 5 -6 yards of each trim:
    • gold tassel
    • red woven gimp
    • red cording
  • The more layers of gimp and trim you add the more finished the look.

IMG_5326 IMG_5328

  • Use the flat sole foot for the tassels and woven gimp, adding one at a time. Use a straight stitch.
  • If you are going to use cording, you will need to switch to a zipper foot to get close up to the edge of the cording.

IMG_5330

  • Now you should have something like this:

IMG_5336

IMG_5334

IMG_5340

  • Personalize it more from here. I was thinking of adding a monogram on the gold section in the front.

IMG_5347 IMG_5349

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2013 12:26 AM

    Girl, you kill me! How do you have time to do all of this awesome stuff AND crazy monitoring job?! I am in awe of you. The tree skirt is gorgeous!

    • January 27, 2013 10:50 AM

      Thanks Jen 🙂 I don’t blog as much as I did when I wasn’t traveling, but I still find the time every now and then.

  2. December 14, 2012 10:49 AM

    This is really cute and a great way to repurpose an old curtain! Thanks for sharing the tutorial!

  3. johnny51 permalink
    December 14, 2012 9:31 AM

    Looks great. Impressive sewing skills! Lisa has been dabbling with sewing classes. I’m hoping we’re doing something like this one day soon.

  4. December 14, 2012 9:18 AM

    Awesome job! I made my tree skirt last year for $20, but it took me six long hours.

  5. Ashley permalink
    December 13, 2012 10:08 PM

    This looks great! Totally outside of my skill level, but who knows maybe one day!

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

