Skip to content
Obligatory Christmas Tree Post Sing Along

December 5, 2012
tags:

Just in case you are like me and can not get enough of all the holiday music and Christmas decor floating around the blogosphere – this is my first contribution (I confess there will be more, lots more!).

Over the river and through the……country (darn it so close to the song) to the Christmas tree farm we went:

Note: This is not from this weekend, it’s from last year when it was cold as b*lls outside.

The car knew the way to carry us there through the balmy 60 degree December weather (wait, aren’t we in Michigan?).

We were very overdressed but felt seasonally appropriate:

geoff with tree

There were lots of wildly shaped trees that we didn’t choose. This is a good example:

me with tree

Of course we did find a perfect one – skinny enough for our little house, but still sort of full.

geoff cutting tree

Nothing like the tree of 2007. Have I told you about the tree of 2007? How I misjudged the height of our ceilings which led to operating a chainsaw indoors, lots of swearing, and jerry-rigging a support structure for the tree on the wall. I’m feeling a future post coming on.

A bit of loading:
tree on car

…into the house:

hauling the tree

…and decorated:

tree 2012
  Followed up with some signing: “Oh Tannenbaum, Oh Tannenbaum” (by me only, Hubs was watching some bigfoot show).

Click below to sing along. I love this time of year!

blog signature

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    April 10, 2013 12:13 AM

    I have the same tile in my basement but the sheen on yours is so much nicer how do you clean it?

  2. December 6, 2012 12:04 AM

    So fun! Love the sing along. And to me you’re not overdressed. To us 60 degrees is a cold day, lol!

    Kyle and I have went to cut down our own tree every year too. This year we’re not getting a tree. Don’t know why, we just decided not to. But don’t think we’re grinches! I still decorated everything else as usual and lights too :

    Cute tree and love the decorations.

  3. December 5, 2012 2:16 PM

    Aww it looks great! I love the ribbons!

  4. johnny51 permalink
    December 5, 2012 1:02 PM

    Looks great! We used to cut our own trees too. We’ve had a fake one for the last couple of years due to the kids and the dog… eventually we’ll go back to another real one.

    • December 5, 2012 4:23 PM

      I just love the smell of the real tree, but I completely understand having a fake one. By the way, your sump pump post was fantastic. I am book marking it for the future.

  5. December 5, 2012 11:44 AM

    So pretty! I like the ribbons tumbling down the sides. I also like that the tree farmer didn’t “shape” the tree.

    • December 5, 2012 4:24 PM

      The farmer definitely left them wild looking. I’m thinking that owning a tree farm is a good retirement strategy – work 1 month a year, and people do the cutting themselves? Sounds good to me 🙂

  6. December 5, 2012 8:44 AM

    Your blog is snowing!!

    Love your tree. We are getting ours this weekend!

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

