Skip to content
If you like it then you better put a roof on it!

August 27, 2012
tags:

Sung to the tune of Beyoncé’s “Put A Ring On It”. If I didn’t think websites with music that starts when you open the page were totally annoying, then I would have an excerpt for those of you who have no clue what I’m referring to. 🙂
So, we like our deck. It has built-in vegetable boxes where I grow plants all summer. It’s pretty large (12’x16′). It’s covered – sort of.

It’s covered with awful sheets corrugated plastic that hold trapped rotten leaves between the layers, is full of dive-bombing carpenter bees, is etched from acid rain, and leaks right over the doorway to the house (which rotted out the sill so we had to replace it.)

The problem. Tragic might be the best word, in the disastrous sense. I’m not sure which PO put the “roof” up, but they disconnected the gutter in the process, and instead of flashing it to the house – they tarred it to the house. Any person with a remote knowledge of construction can confirm that this will result in lots of rotten wood. But hey, if the last PO didn’t lack so much foresight or a general knowledge of anything they attempted to “better”, then there would be no blog. Right?

Moving on to the plan. I have grand visions of the deck all fixed up with an asphalt roof, railing removed, large open columns, bead-board ceiling, ceiling fans and sconces. More posts to come on this vision.

We put the plan into action this week! Unfortunately I don’t have any great photos of the horrible roof. It was so ugly I never took a photo, and we ripped it off before I realized I would need one for this post. These pictures actually make it look good, but believe me – it was not.

I took this picture of the door, but there is a good shot of the roof in it

Where we are now:

rotten wood – a result of the tar

rotten wood removed under the stucco

Next stop joists and decking.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2012 12:06 AM

    Wow! I am super excited to see what you do with your deck! I’m so sorry there are those tragic problems though… but now at least you have an excuse to revamp it 🙂

    ~Lisha

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

