Skip to content
Ding Dong! Inexpensive and elegant doorbell style

August 23, 2012

The quest for curb appeal continues with a new doorbell.

If you remember from this post earlier in the year, the doorbell was in rough shape and just not up to snuff with the rest of the front porch re-design.

I scouted new doorbells online that would work with our home’s style and was shocked at some of the prices. I think $30-$100 is way too much for such a small and simple device. Surprisingly I found an inexpensive and elegant doorbell at Restoration Hardware, the last place I thought I would find something affordable.

click picture for link

At $10 I couldn’t beat the price and quality. I couldn’t be happier with it now that it is installed. I had to use a hammer and chisel to remove some wood from the door frame to make it fit, a power drill to pre-drill the screw holes, and a flat head screw driver to connect the wires to the doorbell mechinism.

Now I’m looking for new mail slots – because ours is awful!

What do you think of these? I like the styles but not the prices $100-$300!

I love this one because the hammered finish matches the the front door hardware.

The one is great because of the “LETTRES” and embossed design.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2013 8:27 PM

    I am in fact happy to glance at this blog posts which consists
    of plenty of helpful data, thanks for providing these kinds of
    data.

  2. August 7, 2013 10:08 AM

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles or reviews all the time along with a cup of coffee.

  3. July 19, 2013 4:41 PM

    you’re in point of fact a just right webmaster. The site loading velocity is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick.

    Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a great activity in this topic!

  4. August 24, 2012 6:47 PM

    Nice! We’ve left our doorbell in a not-working state, because the dog goes insane whenever it goes off. However, I could still make it look prettier 🙂 Maybe I’ll check out RH to see if there is a style that would work on our house. Right now it’s the fake hammered black iron with heart-y things on the ends. Gah!

    • August 27, 2012 2:43 PM

      The dog 🙂 Our shiba freaks out if someone walks up the steps – even before the doorbell. Such wary animals. Not having to connect the doorbell would make it even easier!

  5. August 23, 2012 4:06 PM

    Heeeeeey you!

    That new doorbell is a huge improvement! As for the mail slots, I love the “letters” one, but I think the hammered finish slot would look great, too.

  6. August 23, 2012 3:36 PM

    Looks so classy Rachel. I love it. It really fits the look of your house too 🙂 You should come share that and add your link to the blog hop I’m having today: http://onehouseonecouple.blogzam.com/2012/08/thursday-favorite-things-blog-hop/

    ~Lisha

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

