Skip to content
Still Alive in All This Heat: Flowers and Veggies

June 27, 2012
tags: ,

There is a high of 100°F today. It’s June in Michigan – this is very unusual. I can’t remember the last time it went to 100°F. If we even get temperatures in the 90’s it’s during August, the hottest month.  In addition, we have been in a bit of a drought since May. Hardly any rain and bright cloudless days. I miss the rain and summer thunderstorms.The soaker hoses I snaked through the beds have been a great help because I turn them on and go inside to get out of the heat.

Anyway, I have been doing everything I can to keep the garden and grass well watered, and so far it has worked.

Are you suffering in this heat wave too? I feel for those in Colorado (where we used to live) dealing with the drought and wild fire – bring on the rain!

echinacea

yarrow

petunia

shasta daisy

Asiatic lily

day lily

snapdragon

delphinium

foxglove

beebalm

creeping rose

hydrangea

sea lavender

speedwell

I’m trying to train climbing roses around the window

back full sun garden bed

6 Comments leave one →
  1. johnny51 permalink
    July 10, 2012 10:24 PM

    Amazing photos!! Gorgeous flowers. Wish I had your garden.

    • July 19, 2012 9:22 PM

      Thanks so much. Please come over and install decorative molding and trim everywhere and I’ll plant you a flower garden! Trade?! Haha

      • johnny51 permalink
        July 20, 2012 10:44 AM

        Haha.. I think your flowers are going to be more expensive than my painted poplar!

  2. July 8, 2012 2:42 AM

    Your garden looks so lush Rachel! all those beautiful flowers, and your grass is so nice and green. In southern california a lot of people basically just let their lawns die in the summer because it takes so much water to keep it alive because it’s so much drier here. I would love to be surrounded by yards like yours! 🙂

    ~Lisha

  3. June 28, 2012 11:18 AM

    Your garden is so gorgeous! And the photos are stunning! 🙂

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

