Skip to content
Window Gardening: Keeping Dirt in Its Place

June 4, 2012
tags: ,

I plant most of the fresh herbs we use in the raised boxes around the deck in the backyard, but this year I wanted to have a few inside. The oregano, parsley, and sage and perennials and came back from last year. I replanted dill, chives, and thyme outside and purchased basil, rosemary, and cilantro for the window sill in the kitchen.

I am a spontaneous shopper! List or no list, I end up buying whatever fancies me that day. I was at HD buying orchid soil when I saw this really cute white ceramic windowsill planter. It was the perfect size, color and style for my kitchen and so into the cart it went.

One of the things I hate about potting plants is the messy way the dirt leaks out of the drainage holes when you water. Since this planter has a fixed base that can’t be removed, and because it is white, it really could be very messy.

SO….

I had some leftover vinyl screening from last years screen door project. I cut it into 3″x3″ square and cut a slit into each side of each square, and pressed it into the bottom of each pot, making sure to cover the drainage hole.

The slit allowed the material to overlap in the bottom of each pot instead of bunching up. I filled the pots with the plants and extra potting soil and tada!

Now when I water the soil doesn’t slip through the drainage holes, just the water. Who doesn’t love fresh and scented herbs brightening up their kitchen?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 12:51 PM

    I am so in love with your deck! JEALOUS!

  2. June 7, 2012 12:37 PM

    That deck looks like a nice place to hang out! I’m a bit jealous. Someday I hope to have an outdoor space just off the kitchen for eating and sitting. It won’t be at my current house though 🙂

  3. June 4, 2012 12:10 PM

    That’s a great window sill planter.

    Also, this is my first glimpse at your AMAZING backyard – I love your deck!

    • June 6, 2012 6:42 PM

      hey thanks! I blogged a lot about the backyard last year, but you’ll see plenty of it in the next few month. The deck is great except for the roof, we have to replace it before the summer is out.

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

