Skip to content
Redesigning the Front Walkway: Hedge Complete

May 31, 2012

The good weather and busy work days have gotten the best of me. I have been spending a lot of time in the garden and working on home projects, but have not had a chance to tell you all about them.

After taking a poll on what other readers though I should do about the hedge along the front walkway I decided to have the bushes break into half-moons (the most popular option so thank you for your help), following the shape of the garden bed.

This was the plan:

Here is how it turned out:

I added some creeping/drift roses that bloom all summer and stay low to the ground, round 1.5 ft high. The scent in wonderful. I’m looking forward to the hedge forming in the next few years and the roses spreading and filling up the space.

I still have to schedule the mason to do the work on the pathway and porch. I want that done by the end of the month.

In the meantime I will be sprucing up the foundation plantings….literally. I added a Dwarf Alberta Spruce to the right of the front window. I plan to add one to the left and fill in the front with large domed boxwoods. See my sloppy Photoshop attempt to illustrate this below.

What do you think so far?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 7:57 AM

    Great job on the landscaping. It looks fantastic already! Now you have the hard part of waiting for the boxwoods to grow and fill in. 🙂

  2. johnny51 permalink
    June 6, 2012 10:02 AM

    Looking good! We have a couple dwarf alberta spruces too. They’re pretty sweet.

  3. June 1, 2012 5:23 PM

    The hedge is perfect and will look great when it fills in. And I quite like the spruce. It all looks fantastic!

    • June 6, 2012 6:42 PM

      thanks! I think I’m going to water the heck out of it this summer to speed up the growth – might work…haha. I wish they sold larger boxwoods!

  4. June 1, 2012 12:02 AM

    That looks beautiful! You did such a great job. Can’t wait to see the rest of what you do 🙂

    ~Lisha

Trackbacks

  1. Front Porch Redesign: Flagstone Installation « A Home In College Hill
  2. Motawi Tile House Numbers – Tudor Rose « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

