Skip to content
Redesigning the Front Walkway

May 9, 2012

The front walkway has been a work in progress over the last two years. We added the garden beds that flank the path and I began planting a hedge of boxwoods on either side.

Then….

A myriad of other projects and money draining life situations came up. I am excited to get it into shape this season and we have big plans!

Rebuilding the Porch:

I have mentioned before that a PO tore down the steps and built a flagstone porch. That would have been great if:

  1. They had used the correct mortar and not just cement, because now the now porch is crumbling into pieces.
  2.  They had continued it down all the way to the side walk…for some reason they stopped halfway…ran out of stone maybe?

We received a few quotes from different masons in the area to tear down and rebuild the porch with similar materials (flagstone or slate), and continue the walkway down to the sidewalk. We went through the normal contractor nonsense of outrageous quotes, and settled on a mason who has done work for my parents (so I know it’s good) and is affordable.  All that is left to do is schedule the work, I’m thinking sometime in June.

Removing Ugly Plants:

In the meantime I tackled a project I have been waiting to do since we moved in – I took on the dreaded juniper. These prickly spider filled shrubs were all over Colorado, and they are no better in Michigan. What’s the appeal? It’s been lost on me. Not only are they ugly they are hard to remove because the roots are so deep. That didn’t stop me from hacking it to pieces though.

Reworking the Boxwoods:

Now that the juniper is gone, I’m not sure how to finish up the boxwood hedge. Suggestions?

  • Should it follow the path down to the sidewalk and end?

  • Should it break into half-moons toward the end of the walkway to frame the plants?

  • Should it follow the path and then continue along the sidewalk?

An example from my neighborhood – sorry it’s blurry!

Foundation Planting:

I moved the last of the hostas to the backyard where they are better suited to the shade garden. I plan to add another azalea, three globe shaped boxwoods and a dwarf Alberta spruce.

I should probably replace the doorbell since the front of the house will be shaping up 🙂 .

8 Comments leave one →
  1. johnny51 permalink
    May 9, 2012 9:39 PM

    We both like option #2, the half moon. Fo sho. Good luck!

  2. kellywf permalink
    May 9, 2012 9:00 PM

    option two without doubt

  3. May 9, 2012 5:59 PM

    I can’t decide whether I like option one or two better for the boxwoods…maybe 2? Otherwise you may have passing dogs peeing on your sidewalk.

Trackbacks

  1. Front Porch Redesign: Flagstone Installation « A Home In College Hill
  2. Redesigning the Front Walkway: Hedge Complete « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

