Skip to content
Read All About It: Blog News

April 16, 2012

Hey everybody,

Last week was surprising terrific for A Home In College Hill in the blog world.

  • A Home in College Hill was featured by Materials Unlimited on the Facebook page. Materials Unlimited is a local architectural salvage/antique/lighting store in my area. We partnered up with them to do a tutorial on refinishing antique doors and hardware I purchased there. If you missed those posts you can check them out here.
  • I was contacted to locally participate in a user review/demo of a new plug-in Are You A Human is developing for WordPress.org users. It s supposed to eliminate CAPTCHA while still providing a lot of security, by making it fun with games. Makes me want to move over to WordPress.org sooner than later. I need to get on that. It was fun to do, really fast,and hey, who doesn’t hate CAPTCHA. The more work you need to do to leave a comment, the less likely you are to do it.
  • Purdy Paint Tools will be featuring my refinishing antique doors tutorial on their Tip Tuesday tomorrow. Holy Cow! I was so excited when they asked.
  • I was contacted by a restaurant who was looking for local food bloggers to attend their wine tasting. So awesome! I was out of town on business OF COURSE. I let them know I would like to drink their wine pretty much any other time I’m in Ann Arbor, so I hope they invite me back.

Which brings me to an announcement:

I write my blog in real time so it follows what is happening weekly in ours lives as we work on the house. Last summer I added some information about the CSA I joined, local food, and gardening These topics are not about home renovation, but they have to do with our property and the area.

I am going to expand on the food portion of the blog this summer and…….add recipes.

I cook meals from scratch using local ingredients 4-5 times a week. The other days we are eating left overs, or we go out/order-in. That means 5-6 days a week, we are eating meals made almost entirely from local food. It’s not what you think either, because we eat well. We even eat local filet mignon and shrimp. Yup, both raised in Michigan.

The recipes will be once a week or, maybe less, but I hope it’s something you will enjoy. Leave a comment and let me know what you think.

Cheers,

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2012 1:29 PM

    Dude, that is SO AWESOME! Congrats 🙂

    • April 19, 2012 10:18 PM

      thanks! I think the next step is to move over to WordPress.org. I know some people want to follow but use Google friend connect, which WordPress.com doesn’t support (along with all of the other good plugins). SO much to do!

  2. johnny51 permalink
    April 17, 2012 9:59 PM

    Congrats Rachel! That’s great news! Keep up the great posts!

  3. 1house1couple permalink
    April 16, 2012 7:46 PM

    really exciting stuff you have going on! That’s awesome 🙂 I love food posts because I love food and it gives me ideas!

    ~Lisha

  4. April 16, 2012 5:44 PM

    Whoohoo, congrats on all that good news! And I’m looking forward to your recipes.

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

