Skip to content
College Hill Renovation Realities

April 14, 2012

I haven’t posted about the basement for a bit, because, to be honest, it was starting to dominate the blog. Basement updates with trim, carpet, and more will be back next week.

In the meantime, I thought I would entertain you with some humor. We do not move seamlessly from one project to another here at A Home In College Hill, even if it appears as if we do. Here is a sampling of the current frenetic mess of unfinished projects:

  • I started to strip the kitchen cabinets last summer…..

and only got this far….

  • We can’t turn on the fan in the bathroom because it currently vents into the attic, not outside. It makes for a very steamy or a very stinky experience.

  • The doorbell is on its last leg.

  • We replaced the door sill for the dining room french doors LAST summer, but I never got around to staining the other half of threshold.

  • We had to bribe the mason who fixed the fireplace to temporarily cement this step in place, while the rest of the porch crumbles around it.

  • The air conditioner leaked right after I painted and so I refused to touch it up in protest.

  • The laundry shoot is unlined and has wires crossing through it so I have to use a broom handle with a hanger duct taped to it to get the clothes out some times.

  • Our washing machine is possessed and frequently in need of an exorcism in the form of a weight adjustment.
  • The company we hired to fertilize the lawn aerated it by mistake and broke the overflow valve on the dry well.

I hope these made you laugh. I tend to show a lot of progress, which is not always the reality at our house. We have a lot of little projects to finish this summer. Looks like we will be busy.


12 Comments leave one →
  1. saaraahsaaraah permalink
    April 19, 2012 9:31 PM

    Very entertaining post! I have to admit that I’m glad I’m not alone in having millions of house-related “realities”, too. 😉

  2. April 19, 2012 8:26 PM

    I love this post. We are right there with you.

  3. 1house1couple permalink
    April 14, 2012 8:15 PM

    This is real life. This is what it’s really like. It’s impossible to do it all, and it’s even impossible to finish it all sometimes 🙂 This was entertaining. I love the protest of not repainting where your air conditioner leaked, or the half stained threshold for the dining room door. And I can’t watch the possessed washing machine because the video is set to private… isn’t it lame how Youtube only has like 2 settings? I’ve had that problem before.

    ~Lisha

  4. April 14, 2012 11:18 AM

    Wow, I ha definitely imagined that your house was more “intact” than that! Is it wrong I I say that I’m glad, because this means you have lots to write about for a long time? 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Ding Dong! Inexpensive and elegant doorbell style « A Home In College Hill
  2. Redesigning the Front Walkway « A Home In College Hill
  3. Basement: Before/After Photographs « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

