Skip to content
What lives in there?

April 10, 2012
tags: , ,

I was doing some yard clean-up this weekend and transplanting some ferns and mums when I found these two very suspicious holes in the garden bed along the back fence. What are earth lives in there?! Am I looking at an entrance and exit? If so, that means there is a whole maze of tunnels under the garden…. To give you an idea of scale, each hole is 2-4 inches wide. Yikes!

What lives in there?

I knew we had several sassy squirrels that run down the trees and bark at the dogs, and a handful of brazen chipmunks that dig holes in the vegetable boxes and taunt the cat through the window.

Chipmunk taunting SoCo through the window. It sat there and chirped at her for one hour. It proceeded to keep this up a few times a week all summer long.

Squirrels nest in the trees though, and chipmunks are small. This brings me to a frightful and unsettling thought – does a skunk live in there!?!

There have been skunk sightings and smells in the neighborhood. The stench of sprayed skunk has been wafting through the air a few times a week. In fact, when I was out driving early one morning I saw one happily frolicking across the median a street over.

I googled “do skunks live in the ground!”, (exclamation point and all) and it turns out they do 😦 .

What do you think? Am I dealing with a skunk (oh no!) a fat chipmunk, or maybe a fluffy rabbit (we have these too). I really don’t think it’s a woodchuck or groundhog since we live in the city.

Should I set a trap or leave it be?

In the meantime, all I can think about is Pepe Le Pew trying to romance my cat….gross.

click for source

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 8:58 AM

    Seems like kinda a small hole for a skunk. Maybe a snake?

  2. johnny51 permalink
    April 11, 2012 12:49 AM

    Best not to ask those questions. Better to kick dirt into the hole and move along. I’m always afraid of getting bit by something!

  3. April 10, 2012 11:04 PM

    I also don’t think it’s likely to be a skunk. The ones near us burrow into hillsides, almost like fox dens, if you’ve ever seen that. And their holes are MUCH larger. I’d lean towards rabbit, mole (you’d have mounds throughout yard) or ground squirrels. A small live trap would catch whatever it is, or you could use my method and dig it up. Or…use a hose to flush them out. Just stand back if the little critter scurries out!

  4. April 10, 2012 8:34 PM

    I personally think it looks too small to be a skunk burrow, and I also think that you’d be smelling skunk more often than not! I had baby skunks get trapped in the window well in the last place I lived in, and holy heck did they wreak up the basement. They tend to dig under things, too, rather than straight down into the ground. They look too big to be groundhog holes…

    We have similar holes in our yard, although maybe a bit smaller than yours. They look rabbity to me!

Trackbacks

  1. Early Spring Flowers « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

