Skip to content
The good, the bad and the ugly….

April 6, 2012

This week was a mixed bag of issues and progress in what has become the basement remodel saga.

THE GOOD:

Geoff installed the cat door for SoCo which means that the litter box has been banished to the far corner of the furnace room. I am so excited about this, you have no idea.

  1. This is the only time in the past 5 years of home ownership and the prior 5 years of rental history that the cat box has been out of sight.
  2. The cat actually uses the door! Fantastic! Soco’s natural desire to get into small spaces/ anything resembling a hole or box resulted in 10 seconds of training her to use the cat door.
  3. It was really easy to install since the wall is 1/2 inch drywall instead of 2 inch thick plaster/lath. Hurrah for flimsy modern materials.

I purchased some inexpensive bright contemporary fabric to make pillows for the couch. The basement is looking a little hum drum with the grey walls, white carpet, and sage couch. I think these pillows will brighten it up a bit. The blue fabric sort of looks like the design on the office walls, right?

THE BAD:

Stop me before I strangle the nearest plumber boiler certified service technician. When we moved the couch to prepare the floor for carpet this is what we found:

The leak is back! I just about went Yosemite Sam on the radiator when I saw that it was rusty and leaking RIGHT BEFORE we were about to install the carpet. Let’s remember that the radiator was newly installed by this company we hired, to which we paid a fortune, and then it subsequently leaked because they must be bad at their jobs. Now it is leaking again!

I could have fixed the leak with two wrenches, but I already paid this company $400 to install the radiator correctly so they are going to come out here as many times as it takes to fix the leak.

A new technician and the one who previously fixed the leak came out (like to takes two guys) and the guy who was supposed to fix the leak the first time starting spinning yarn by saying that we must have moved the radiator (uhhh, it’s inside of the wall and weighs over 500 lbs…no one can move it) and that is what caused it to leak because this isn’t the same leak he fixed before, it was in a different place. NEWSFLASH buddy, I write a blog and take pictures of everything and this is the same spot it leaked before. Way to ruffle my feathers.

THE UGLY:

I could have just about cried after the carpet was installed and I asked the installers to put the doors back on their hinges only to find out that they don’t fit! The height of the carpet and pad was more than expected, and even though we trimmed the doors down before hanging them, they are still to long 😦

I have to cut them down with the circular saw and I have already finished them! I don’t want to mess up my finish, so I did some research and got some good advice from other home blogger friends. SO we will see how it turns out tomorrow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 1house1couple permalink
    April 11, 2012 7:32 PM

    Yay for the cat door! I want a cat door so bad so that the cats can just come and go as they please and YES I want to get rid of the litter box. Currently, we’re training out cats to go to the bathroom in the toilet, yes I said the toilet, and that takes about 10 weeks, so we’ll see how it turns out. So far they’re making strides 🙂

    ~Lisha

  2. oldtownhome permalink
    April 7, 2012 12:07 PM

    Keeping my fingers crossed for your door finish. Slow, steady, and no contact between saw and finish. And remember the golden rule, “you can always remove more later, you can’t add back if you’ve cut too much.”

  3. johnny51 permalink
    April 7, 2012 9:26 AM

    Can’t believe how great those doors look. There’s not much you could have done about the carpet height. Sucks that it’s extra work.

  4. April 6, 2012 7:45 PM

    As IF they suggested that the leak was your fault. I would be fuming!

Trackbacks

  1. Zip it! How to Add a Zipper to Any Sewing Project « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

