Skip to content
The Rescue of Mistreated Treasures: Salvage Shopping

March 23, 2012

I actually escaped the basement reno last weekend for a few hours. Although, I wouldn’t suggest anyone go architectural salvage shopping right before they need to drive someone to the airport. If it weren’t for a mini bungee cord and twine jerry-rigging the doors in place inside my not-quite-big-enough cross-over, I don’t know if my friend would have made his flight. I wasn’t going to leave without the gorgeous doors I found though. The universe might as well have dropped them at my feet.

Materials Unlimited is this fantastic architectural salvage, antique, and furniture restoration store in Ypsilanti, MI. They have EVERYTHING! Leave your credit card at home or take your husband (if he’s like mine, he stops me from buying everything I want ::pout::). I’m talking three floors of crystal door knobs, Victorian hinges, doors, lights, chandeliers, mantels, andirons, keys, antiques, stained glass….whatever your little old-house-restoring-heart dreams of. Better yet, the staff actually know what they are talking about – I know, it’s shocking. How often do you find yourself taking to a self-proclaimed know-it-all who doesn’t have the slightest idea about much of anything. At this place, they will educate you about the restoration process or the history and provenance of the piece in question.

I know some of the salvage pieces comes from tear downs or vacant homes, however, we all know that sometimes people rip it out for no good reason. I wonder who these people are if they know that a frazzled old house enthusiast (and probably frequent commenter on Old House Web) is pulling out their hair to find the original door knobs for their 1910 house that someone removed in the 1990’s and replaced with builder grade brass monstrosities. ::sigh::

The doors are only my second purchase. I bought an AMAZING Moe Brothers Tudor style sconce for the vestibule last year. I can’t afford much else 🙂 I am still in the process of refinishing the doors (they were a little beat up). Look for the tutorial/post next week or under the project tab.

I snapped some photos of some potential items for the house (minus the giant mirror ::dreaming::). So, here is some eye candy for you…go ahead and drool.

Do you see me in the photo? Check out the scale of this mirror!

A newel post....

or two?

More Tudor sconces

ohhh, on the exterior flanking the french doors, maybe?

This one is for all you lovers of the school house style lights - you know who you are!

check out these gorgeous leaded glass cabinet folding doors.

A miracle door

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig permalink
    March 23, 2012 1:13 PM

    Hey I’ve been there. I love it! So awesome… I think you just inspired a trip there for me.

  2. March 23, 2012 12:11 PM

    I would be in serious trouble there. Everything looks so gorgeous!

    • March 23, 2012 12:21 PM

      I know right! It’s so close too…..if I go I’ll spend money, so I try to stay away when I’m not looking for something in particular.

  3. March 23, 2012 11:30 AM

    Ack! I’m in need of four newel posts! D is building our dining room table, and it needs some legs…

  4. March 23, 2012 11:05 AM

    Gorgeous! I love architectural salvage places but you’re right, I rarely find someone who knows their stuff and besides, hubby’s not keen on the expense of original materials. Couple that with the fact that our house isn’t designed for beautiful relics like those, and it makes sense that I don’t get out very often. Which doors did you go home with?

    • March 23, 2012 11:25 AM

      We went for ones that are exact match for the original house doors. Solid two panel pine/birch..almost done with sanding them. Hopfully staining them tomorrow.

  5. March 23, 2012 9:17 AM

    The lights, the lights!!! Thanks for the eye candy! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Read All About It: Blog News « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

