Skip to content
Basement Update: paint, carpet and an overflowed sink

March 19, 2012

There has been a good amount of progress on the basement the past few weeks. I have been giving it all of my free time, weekends, and evenings just trying to get over this last hump – so close! I shooting for April 1st as a completion date – approximately 6 months since we started the renovation in November. The laundry room and bathroom will not be done by my timeline šŸ˜¦ That’s OK though. Building and completing 4 new rooms (boiler, bathroom, laundry, living space) is an under taking even with all of the contractor help we’ve had.

I went with a soft gray for the walls. I think it will look really good with the dark doors and white trim. The furniture will change at some point too, I’m thinking a light beige or cream for the couch.

messy tv arrangement

Bathroom door/desk area

Paint: I hemmed and hawed over what primer to use. Since we used green board and the texture was a little rougher that regular drywall I wanted to use Kilz – because it’s the best primer around. When I got to HD, I realized that a 5 gallon bucket of Kilz primer is almost $100 – crazy! I definitely needed 5 gallons because I was painting four rooms and the ceiling. After talking to the paint guy (who actually knew what he was talking about – bonus!) I went with the Behr drywall primer. It gave really good coverage, dried in 1 hour and was half the price of Kilz at $50.

For a hot minute I thought about renting a sprayer. Makes sense right? The floors are concrete and will be covered in carpet so getting paint on them is no problem, and since the couch was already wrapped up like a burrito there was no concern about getting paint on anything. Plus, I HATE to painting ceilings, and so, a sprayer and then back-rolling sounded great. Well, HD had other plans. The rental was $90/day and the guy said they’ve been clogging and not working right – great salesman, but glad for the warning. It was $200 to buy one new, so I couldn’t bring myself to pay for a crappy rental. $200 is a lot to shell out with all the pending projects, so I did it the old-fashioned way with a paint tray and a roller.

I will say (since I have repainted two homes) that purchasing good rollers is completely worth it. I like to use Purdy White Dove rollers, and I don’t wash them and reuse them – they never seem to work as well the second time. OH, and I wish I was getting paid to plug all of these brands, but I’m not. They just make good products.

Radiator: I settled the bill with the plumbing company who installed the radiator. It ended up leaking of all things! They had to come back out and it looks like it’s been fixed. A little tough talk ( which I totally hate doing – I would never work in management. I mean if people would just do their jobs it wouldn’t be necessary, right?), and some negotiation and they dropped the bill $150 and I feel comfortable using them again – as long as I’m warned on the price of parts.

Trim and Doors: The trim and doors go up this week! I bought three beautiful doors from an architectural salvage place. I am refinishing them, so look for the future post.

Carpet: I almost bought carpet two different times, but finally made the purchase this weekend. Hip, hip hurrah! So excited for the installation. I think this is the last piece of the project that will transform the basement into a finished space. I went from a local place that had a sale going on, to HD, and back. I had carpet measuring issues with both companies. Arg. The local place couldn’t make the appointment, which wasted my time, but then the salesperson came out to the house herself to do it when I complained. HD came and did the measurement, discussed it with me before they left, showed me the special little diagram on their nifty device, and then when I called to schedule said they couldn’t use the measurement because the drywall wasn’t up. Uh what? I was ping-ponged from HD to their third party measuring company who claimed that I could “move the walls and they could end up eating the cost of the extra carpet needed”. Move the walls? They are screwed into the cement floor, and are not moving. Seriously, how may times does that happen, and why would drywall prevent me from doing that if I was so inclined? I called the HD store back, was on hold for 30 minutes, as they passed the phone around to three people before I spoke with the manager, who didn’t seem to care.Ā  I went with the local company.

Oopps….I clogged the sink: Carefully washing my drywall tools and paint brushes as directed, in addition to some other stuff, ended up clogging the laundry sink in the basement. We haven’t been able to do laundry for a week! The washer drains directly into the sink, and almost overflowed the other night when I wasn’t looking (I do have a mesh screen on the laundry hose too). I would have just unscrewed the trap and cleaned out the clog, but it wouldn’t be that easy. I live in an old house remember? The trap is some crazy iron monstrosity that has been rusted shut for 80 years. Our regular plumber Craig made it out this morning. There was no getting the trap apart, so he cut it out and replaced it with PVC. Now the sink drains, and I can unscrew the trap myself – but I think I will be more careful about what I put down there next time!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. robertred permalink
    April 17, 2012 12:07 PM

    My basement looks just like yours… I just put in brand new basement carpet. It’s kind of a dark brown light silver color. It’s a really cool look and feel and i think it would go great with your basement. You should look into that.

  2. erikaourcozycubbyhole permalink
    March 20, 2012 10:51 AM

    Congrats! This looks amazing! You must feel like a million bucks adding 4 rooms to your house.

    P.S. Those doors are gorgeous!

  3. March 20, 2012 12:09 AM

    Good on you for having the self-restraint not to be buy the sprayer. I totally would have, and then would have pressured myself to repaint the entire house (it’s only worth it if you use it all the time, right?) LOL.

    Love the doors, and your recap of your carpet issues made me laugh: big box stores have their uses but also their limits. Small and local is almost always better šŸ™‚

  4. 1house1couple permalink
    March 19, 2012 7:24 PM

    wow Rachel! That is awesome. love the paint color, light airy fresh and clean! I also love the doors you salvaged. even the way they are looks cool to me. can’t wait to see what you do with them šŸ™‚

    ~Lisha

    • March 19, 2012 11:23 PM

      Thanks. I have the doors sanded down, ready to restain. I’m going to try and match the color they were before stripping. They just needed to be cleaned up a bit.

  5. johnny51 permalink
    March 19, 2012 5:30 PM

    Even though you didn’t rent a sprayer, I actually may consider one now for our basement project… something to think about. Love the doors and the paint color!

  6. March 19, 2012 12:25 PM

    Love that shade of gray! And can’t wait to see what you do with those doors….

    • March 19, 2012 1:14 PM

      Thanks! Can you believe they were just over $100 a piece? I would pay that much for hollow fiberglass paneled doors, except these are solid birch and pine!

  7. March 19, 2012 12:06 PM

    Whooo look at you go! I love the colour, and the doors!

Trackbacks

  1. Basement: Before/After Photographs « A Home In College Hill
  2. The Rescue of Mistreated Treasures: Salvage Shopping « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

