Skip to content
Branding my Blog: Purple and White Dahlias

March 7, 2012

I was going to post about drywall today…..but I’m not quite done piecing all the post details together. So instead, I will tell you about dahlias and the beginning of my blogs brand.

A few months ago I decided to take several steps to whip my blog into shape:

  • Move it to WordPress
  • Re-design the page
  • Teach my self a little CSS and HTML coding every week
  • Join other blogging groups and forums
  • Finally make a Twitter account ( I was resisting at all costs, but now I actually like it)
  • Make a page on Facebook
  • Participate in blog love: link parties, exchanges etc…
  • Make it easier to navigate

I feel like my baby blog of rambling home renovation projects, gardening, and CSA tidbits has begun to become a place where I,  and other readers, like to talk about everything from insulation to ants. Part of this process was giving my blog an identity. I changed the background, font, and header a dozen times or so trying to find the right fit. I settled on using images from my home (since that’s what this blog is about!) because everything else I tried didn’t capture the feel I wanted the blog to have.

Dahlia’s and Iris are my favorite flowers, and last year when I purchased my new iphone4 I went crazy taking pictures with it. I discovered it takes phenomenal photos of plants  in natural light. I snapped pictures of everything I was growing in the garden – especially the purple and white Sellwood Glory dahlia that was bending under the weight of all its blooms.  When I was looking for a blog image I can across this beautiful flower, and that was it! The beginning of my blogs brand was born.

I just placed my order for all the dahlias that I intend to plant this Spring (14 in total – ambitious much?) and I made sure to order another Sellwood Glory in addition to the varieties below. I will keep the Sellwood as my branded image though – striking and classic. I hope when you see a Sellwood in someone elses garden, you’ll think of my house.

You can read up on the history of this flower at Old House Gardens, the heirloom bulb/tuber/fleshy-rooted plant source for all of my Dahlia’s and Iris’ and future peonies.

Arriving at my doorstep in April directly from Old House Gardens:

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 11:16 AM

    Hi Rachel! I found you over at the Sits Girls 31 Days Blog group forum. You caught my eye because I started my blog for the same exact reason-to catalog my endless DIY projects for my new home 🙂

    I saw from this post that you made the move over to WordPress. My blog is currently on Blogger and have been considering making the move as well. Is it worth the effort?

    • March 13, 2012 12:07 PM

      It was worth it. The templates are more professional and you can do more, but if you want to have advertising you have to self host – which can be very involved. Also not all of the cool widgets and gadets work with WordPress unless you self host because the free version doesn’t allow them.

  2. March 8, 2012 11:02 AM

    Hey! Found you on houseblogging. I’m Rachel, too. I’m a long ways from flowers, but it’s exciting to see other people getting into it! Hopefully I’ll be able to get something in this summer (before it’s too late!) In the meantime, I’ll just have to admire from afar!

    • March 8, 2012 3:45 PM

      You have a lot of time still! Annuals are always a good way to start. They are inexpensive and give lots of color all summer long. I love HouseBlogging btw, so glad I found that website! If you want to stay updated you can receive new posts by email.

  3. March 8, 2012 10:38 AM

    Gorgeous! I can’t wait to see!

    (PS – I still need the code for your button. I can’t find it!!)

  4. March 8, 2012 10:23 AM

    Rachel, We love Sellwood Glory, too, and we’re proud to be your favorite source for bulbs. Your blog reminds me of when my wife and I were newlyweds and renovating our 1889 Queen Anne house. It’s a lot of fun, isn’t it? And hard work, of course. Your garden is beautiful, too. I especially like the flower beds along the front walk — very welcoming and neighborly — and those gorgeous peonies. Happy spring! Scott, Old House Gardens – Heirloom Bulbs

    • March 8, 2012 3:48 PM

      Scott, so glad you stopped by! I gush over your bulbs all the time. I’ve turned my mom and sister on to all of the fabulous things you sell. This fall I’m going to make sure to order some snake heads – I can’t believe there are purple and white checkered flowers – straight out of Alice and Wonderland.

  5. March 8, 2012 10:03 AM

    I can’t wait to see your new garden! I’ve actually been thinking about givning our front yard some color. It’s always so nice to come home to a beautiful bed of flowers greeting you. And I’d love to read about your gardening tips…I’m a newbie at this! Also, I don’t know what your blog looked like before, but what you’ve done to it looks great! Your dahlia’s are beautiful!

    • March 8, 2012 3:51 PM

      thanks so much! The blog has grown up a bit. Definitely check the garden tab, and garden archives. There is a lot of good stuff in there. I will be posting about the garden a lot this summer, so stay tuned 🙂 Oh, and btw, I love walking up the front path after a day of work with all the flowers and greenery just singing in the sun.

  6. March 7, 2012 5:59 PM

    Your garden is going to be so beautiful and colorful with all those flowers! Love it!

    I also like your blog updates. Turned out nice:)

    ~Lisha

    p.s. I just realized that I had not yet liked your Facebook or linky followed, so I got right on that! 🙂

  7. Erin permalink
    March 7, 2012 3:48 PM

    Wow, those flowers are so beautiful! I regularly buy dahlia stems from the farmers market here in CT. You’ll have to share some growing tips. Maybe I’ll try my hand at growing my own.

    • March 7, 2012 3:53 PM

      They actually do really well as container plants. They can’t survive the winter so some people start them in pots and then bury the pots in the ground (1 inch beneath the soil). In the fall they just dig up the pots and store them in a cool place until the next Spring. If you are planting them directly in the ground it is very tricky so you’ll need to read up. Let me know what you decide to do!

Trackbacks

  1. My Dahlias: Tuber to Bloom « A Home In College Hill
  2. Early Spring Flowers « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

