Skip to content
Spring Tease: crocus and other happy flowers

March 6, 2012

So happy to see the first crocus blooming today! I thought I planted purple and white crocus’, but this one is yellow? Either I’ve had too much wine, or the well-fed neighborhood squirrels are paying me back for digging up my Iris’ last year.

The peonies and the hosta’s have poked through the soil too. A few more weeks and I can move some of them around to their new spots without stunting their growth for Spring.

No daffodils in site though…..shouldn’t they be poking through by now in zone 5? I hope I didn’t kill them 😦 they are from my favorite place to buy flowers Old House Gardens. Speaking of which, I need to buy my dahlias – like yesterday! Did you notice that the purple and white flower in my header and signature is an actual picture of a dahlia I grew last year? —-> sucker for flowers.

click picture for source

The magnolia is also shedding it’s fuzz, so the buds should start to swell soon. So excited for all my gardening plans this year, ambitious as they are! 🙂 I plan to plant:

  • A hedge of white hydrangeas
  • 3 or 4 more rhododendrons – love these because they are evergreen and thrive in acidic soil
  • Dahlias, dahlias, dahlias
  • A rose garden( to supplement the one I sort-of started last year)
  • Split and move some of the herbaceous peonies that are as old as the house
  • Boxwood borders
  • A few dwarf alberta spruce
  • A huge veggies garden 🙂 SO much success with this last year

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 1:26 AM

    wow, what an extensive list of plantings you plan to plant 😉

    I like that yellow flower, even though it wasn’t what you planned on popping up 🙂

    I seem to not have a green thumb, but over the last couple years I’ve managed to keep some regular house plants alive, so I’m proud of myself for that!

    You’re going to have a lovely garden, Rachel 🙂

    ~Lisha

    p.s. congrats on the Yostie! woohoo!

    • March 7, 2012 3:48 PM

      Thanks! Have you tried orchids? I have them all over the house, regulary forget to water them and they keep blooming every 3 months.

  2. March 7, 2012 12:14 AM

    love lilacs…I wish they bloomed for a longer period of time. We have one lilac bush on the property line that is so fragrent for a few weeks in Spring. I’m not familiar with the snowball bush – what is that?

  3. March 6, 2012 9:50 PM

    I’m excited to see your work on this! We got a few “freebies” when we bought the house – 2 lilacs (1 is out of control huge and probably as old as the house), a snowball bush/tree, and some other bush/tree that produces wee little pink flowers. There’s a rose bush, too.

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

