Skip to content
Guest Blogger: Renewed Upon A Dream

March 5, 2012

Please welcome Sarah from Renewed Upon A Dream. Today we are doing a blog exchange and while she updates a great furniture find here, I’m over at her blog giving a tutorial on adding nail- head trim to a chaise. Please stop by her blog when you’re finished reading the post. Happy Monday!
*********************************
Woot! I’m so excited to be here at College Hill Renovation doing a guest post for Rachel. I love that she is practically my neighbor too! We live in the same town. It makes me smile when I find other like-bloggers who live by me.

So over at my blog, Renewed Upon a Dream, I do a regular post every Thursday called Treasure Hunting Thursday. A while back, I wrote about a little school desk that I found at our local consignment shop, that I purchased for myself for my birthday. Well, that little desk has been sitting in our living room in all it’s scratched up, stained, orangey glory for the past couple months & I finally decided what I wanted to do with it, and got around to making it happen. Sometimes I’m a little slow at these things… it’s okay though. Here is how my little desk looks now!

We use it as a table right next to the front door. It’s a great place to stash the little things we want to drop off, and the little seat is a great place for my husband to sit to put his shoes on so that he doesn’t track mud through the house. Here’s how it’s been looking for the past couple of months.

I thought about painting the desk, which seemed like the easiest option, but I felt like I’d loose some of the character of it if I did that, and so I wanted to stain it dark to match my coffee table, but I didn’t want it to be too plain. So I decided to do some stripes! Aren’t they fun?

First thing first I had to sand the desk down. This was the most time consuming part of this project. I got out my sander & went to town on it, first using a courser sandpaper, then finishing it off with a finer sandpaper. I made sure to get all of the old finish off, which is why it took so long. I also made sure to get everything around the edges, as these would need to be re-stained as well.

Next I taped off where I wanted my stripes to be. I decided that each part of the desk, seat, seat back, desk piece, should have the same stripe. Once I was sure my tape was secure, I painted one layer of white paint in the stripes, let it dry just a bit, then carefully pulled off the tape. My lines looked fabulous. I left them for a couple of hours to dry really well before sanding them a bit to make them a little less perfect.

The next step was to stain. I used a dark Minwax stain because that’s what I had, and it is what I have used on other projects. I love dark wood! So I wiped on the stain with a sponge brush, and immediately wiped it back off with a rag. I didn’t leave it on very long to penetrate the wood because I didn’t want it to be too dark.

After I got the whole thing stained, I was pretty excited with how it looked! Stain has to be left alone a while to sink in & dry before you can finish it, so I left it for a few days like that.

To seal it, I used a wipe on poly by Minwax. I find that this is pretty easy to use on these types of projects. I used 3 coats, applied over 3 days, sanding between coats.

I think it turned out pretty well don’t you? I love that I decided to add the little extra detail of the stripes. My husband likes that the stripes are just a little different in size.

I think it looks kind of like a race car desk…. no? Just me? Ok.

Anyway, I’m SO happy with it. I can’t believe I waited 2 months to get started on it!

I hope that you’ll come visit me at Renewed Upon a Dream & take a look at some of the other furniture refinishes that I’ve done recently. Thank you so much Rachel for having me!

Pin It

Sarah
http://reneweduponadream.blogspot.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 1:23 AM

    wow, that is a very good transformation, Sarah! I love it! πŸ™‚

    still looks rustic, yet much more modern at the same time. I like how you decided to leave the stripes πŸ™‚

    ~Lisha

  2. March 6, 2012 10:04 AM

    Sarah, this is beautiful! I’m glad you didn’t paint it either. You can still see the character shining through the darker stain. I’m a thrift store-a-holic and love vintage furniture pieces. And I recently saw an old 50’s school chair, and was totally gonna snag it, but it was almost $200!! Eeeps!! I’m hoping to find some for my daughters’ room, I have 2 daughters, so I need 2…fingers crossed! And I totally see the race car reference….but it also got a modern feel now with the stripes. Great Job!!

  3. March 5, 2012 5:31 PM

    Looks really nice! love the stripes

  4. March 5, 2012 12:54 PM

    The stripes are GENIUS and I think the brown stain is the perfect shade. I love it Sarah!!

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

