Skip to content
Radiator Headaches: Bills and Leaks

February 29, 2012

I thought we had been ripped off by the plumbing company that re-installed our basement radiator when we were charged $183 smakaroo’s for a replaced valve. I researched similar valves online, found them for as little as $25, became thoroughly pissed off, and called the company to dispute the bill. I was pretty disappointed in this company which has served the area for 90 years. After playing phone tag with the manager for 2 days, he finally left a message the shed some light on the valve price situation:

There are valves available online for $25. According to him, these valves will last 6 months to a year before leaking. The valve used on my radiator was made by Hoffman Specialty. Apparently this valve will last a lifetime, and so, they are more expensive. I looked up Hoffman Specialty valves are they sell for around $90.  That still makes the $183 they charged me waaaayyyy too high.

They also charged me for a service call and labor, when it’s one or the other. I have used them in the past and if they come out and don’t do any work because parts have to be ordered etc… it’s a service call fee – not a charge for the service call and an hourly charge for their time.

To top it off, one of the new connections they made started leaking as soon as we put up the dry wall. Looks like we are taking one step backwards! Please, oh please, let them be able to fix the leak without having to remove the radiator, which would mean the drywall has to come down. Please!!

Leaking all over the newly painted wood

Please ignore the dusty mess and couch island. The couch has been stacked like a floating jenga tower as we push it around the room. Can’t wait to get rid of it! That is, if my Hubby let’s me. This couch is legendary – people in New York talk about this couch. Certain unnamed person’s have been quoted as saying “this is the most comfortable couch from Colorado to the East Coast”. We have even had multiple offers from friends to buy the couch if we ever want to get rid of it. Please, buy it! It’s too big for the new space. Just don’t tell my Hubby, because it’s marshmellow soft cushions and expansive size (12 feet across the back) are making it very difficult for him to let go.

Anyway, back to business….cross you fingers that I get good news on the bill and on the leak!

As of now, I’m off to Home Depot to buy dry wall supplies: mud, tape, and tools. Hopefully the radiator issues don’t hold us up too much.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 5:38 PM

    I hate leaks… almost as much as shitty contractors. You can always buy a couple pipe wrenches and a new fitting and replace it yourself.. it’s not too hard. It’s a lot easier to replace than it looks.

    • March 1, 2012 8:49 PM

      I think you’re right. I need to invest in some good tools and learn how to do some simple plumbing. I didn’t pay them to come back and fix the leak though, they ate that!

  2. March 1, 2012 4:51 PM

    Ugh. How horrible. 😦 That’s so crappy that there’s a leak! I hope the issue is resolved quickly and easily for you…

    • March 1, 2012 8:50 PM

      Thank you! They came and fixed it! I’m be mudding and taping every night, but I think I’m going to take a break from posting about the basement before I bore everyone to death!

  3. February 29, 2012 12:33 PM

    Oh the joy of dealing with contractors! We had a guy that we thought was going to do our stair case and railings, and now he tells us it might be anther 3-4 weeks until he is available for the job! I’ve been living without a decent staircase for 3 months now!

    • March 1, 2012 8:51 PM

      oh no! I checked out your website, I love the floors where the railing will sit. Just beautiful. I think the cast iron railings will be a great complement…..whenever they are installed 🙂

  4. February 29, 2012 11:26 AM

    What a pain!

    And I know what you mean about partners not wanting to let go of things…haha.

Trackbacks

  1. The good, the bad and the ugly…. « A Home In College Hill
  2. Basement Update: paint, carpet and an overflowed sink « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

