Skip to content
Drywall and Dust

February 26, 2012

So Friday was one of the those days I could have skipped. If I had kept sleeping and woken up Saturday, maybe I wouldn’t have been in such a crappy mood. The only good news is that the basement ceiling is drywalled. Thank-freaking-goodness. This is basement renovation month 4, and it looks like there is one more month to go…and I’m really over all the constant construction.

The other night I was checking out the basement renovation on  8foot6, and holy shhii-nikes. This girl has to be some kind of crazy to take on that scope of a project, but her results are AMAZING! Her insane idea actually turned out to be a genius decision. I have mentioned before that our basement ceiling was average to start with, and is now low because we had to drop it to hide all the radiator piping (our house is heated by hot water, and moving the pipes wasn’t an option….well, it could have been done for 5-10k which we would never see again, so like I said, it wasn’t an option).  8foot6 had a low ceiling, so they decided to break up their basement floor and dig down three feet! You need to check out the blog to see it for yourself, no amount of words can do the photos of their progress justice. From start to finish it took them more than 7 months, and they had an engineer, architect, and crew working non-stop. The results are beautiful, and very polished. Although, I cringe to think of the $$ spent.

Back to our incredibly less expensive basement remodel.

This is what is left to do:

  • Mud and tape all the walls/ceiling
  • Sand, sand, sand some more, keep sanding
  • Yell and scream because everything is covered in dust
  • Gain appreciation for my shop-vac
  • Re-tile basement bathroom
  • Paint
  • Install carpet
  • Hang doors
  • Finish trim
  • Furnish
  • Decorate

Can I just skip to decorate?  Apparently not, unless I want to pay someone to do everything else. Truth be told, I actually want to do most of the work myself..I just want to hit the fast forward button. I would also like to add, “buy a new washer/dryer” to the list but I’m not sure that’s in the cards for a few months. We will see.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2012 2:25 PM

    Thanks for the mention! It was a lot of work. But totally worth it!

    You will get there! So close now!

  2. February 26, 2012 12:36 PM

    You’ll get there! We’re almost at the drywall stage for our bathroom and I’m not looking forward to the dust.

Trackbacks

  1. Make the ugly go away part III | A Home In College Hill
  2. Drywall Up! Giant Crytals and Superman « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

