Skip to content
Simple and Stylish Kitchen Organization

February 8, 2012

Whenever you see a kitchen in a magazine the counters and window sills are free of clutter. Appliances are put away and there are no cleaning utilities in site.

Let’s be real, no one lives like that. I need the soap where I can use it. Sure I could put it under the cabinet, but then every time I need it, I have to open the cabinet with dirty hands. Gross. Sticky cabinet pulls and fridge handles are a total pet peeve of mine. How yucky is it to open the fridge and sweep your fingers over some sticky goo or crusty something?  Blahhahhh.

Our soap has lived on the window sill (not so pretty) because there isn’t any room on the counter behind the sink. Now that I’m looking at the picture, doesn’t the faucet look lonely there all by its self? No spray thing-a-ma-gig or soap dispenser built into the granite to keep it company. It’s also slightly off-center  under the window which makes me nuts. Why didn’t the PO center the sink when they installed the granite? Sloppy, sloppy, sloppy.

Before

My untamed desire to start lots of new projects combined with my recent trip to IKEA resulted in a very stylish solution for the lonely faucet and cluttered window sill. I picked up a rail and a bunch of hooks that can be used to hang coffee cups, and baskets/containers. The black finish and traditional styling matched my kitchen details precisely and the white pots set off the upper cabinets.

Kitchen fintorp kitchen series:

Ta Da! The faucet has gained two friends in the form of white hanging pots, and the soap/ sponge are nestled into their new home. The best part is the hooks are moveable and slide along the rail so I can add another pot in the future.  We do intend to put up a backsplash  soon. Maybe Carrara marble or grey glass subway tile? Not sure which one, but the rail can easily be installed on top of the tile. In the meantime, I really enjoy how the steel casement windows are highlighted by all the coordinating black accents. I plan to swap out the faucet at some point. I want to keep the style but change the color to “oil rubbed bronze” aka black in order to keep the color scheme consistent.

After

What do you think? Backsplash suggestions? Other good kitchen organizing ideas?

Pin It

I linked this post up to: Under The Table and Dreaming

My entry into Strut Your Stuff sponsored by Appliances Online and the Bosch Washing Machines

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2013 2:03 PM

    Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure
    things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin.
    Do you have any tips or suggestions? With thanks

  2. February 8, 2012 2:36 PM

    I’ve seen these in Ikea and I think they’re great! Definitely something I’m keeping in mind for when we do our kitchen, or even for our bathroom reno.

    PS. I like your new social media “buttons” in your sidebar!

    • February 8, 2012 2:50 PM

      Thank you, I’m not getting much work done today. Looks like I will be working tonight 🙂 I am messing around with different elements to change the look, let me know if I go too far 🙂

  3. Rita permalink
    February 8, 2012 1:53 PM

    Going to have to steal this idea since my windowsill also has a little too much company!!

Trackbacks

  1. Reader Room Design: Decal Wall Treatment « A Home In College Hill
  2. A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

