Skip to content
Home Office Progress: Putting It All Together

February 6, 2012

While I’m not done with everything for the office yet, I’m getting close.

BEFORE:

Before: Front Window

ceiling fan has to go

Before: Vanity Wall

Before: Desk Wall

Before: Shelf Wall

 PROGRESS: Painting

Click here for details on inspiration for the wall treatment and how to get the tutorial.

Taking forever to paint……..but, I love the way it’s turning out.

PROGRESS: Shelving

The boxes were really heavy so my friend John had to help bring them in the house and up the stairs. If you have a wide open in space to assemble the shelves, I suggest you use it. There was lots of assembling and then flipping, and then assembling to get it together in the little floor space the office offered.

Also, there was some swearing when I put this together. I broke one of the shelves half way through, but you can’t really tell now that’s it’s put together, since I stuck a basket right on top of the cracked shelf – instant fix! The instructions are in pictures only, no words…..some kind of cruel joke? I’m not sure.

I am still looking for a new light fixture and vanity mirror. I also need to decide what to do for the windows, shades or drapes?

Better, but not pretty.

Storage for all my hair/make-up/skin-care

 PROGRESS: Decor

This was fun! After the Pottery Barn Class, My friend and I went to Home Goods. This store has everything all the big name store do, but for much less. I picked up a few more baskets (in addition to the ones from Pottery Barn) to hid my vanity accessories, picture frames to decorate the space above, a few glass candle holders, and two wall shelves.

Desk items I don't use every day are now stashed away.

Stacks of paper now out of sight

I have seen this a million times on tv and on other websites. The “how to hang a group of frames without a level or a tape measure”. It works pretty well as I show below. Now I just need to put in the photos.

Trace around the frames

Tape the outline to the wall

Hammer nails through the marks

Ta Da!

All cleaned up and looking pretty

Storage cabinet and hanging file from IKEA. Re-purposed mirror.

Re-purposed crystal desk lamps with new IKEA shades, baskets and floating shelves from Home Goods

Almost done!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. S. Caulder permalink
    March 18, 2012 7:29 PM

    I looks fantastic. The baskets really make it look comfy. Love the paint treatment. I would definately use a stencil….or I would never finish. Everything you have done looks beautiful. What are you doing when you take the ceiling fan down?

    • March 19, 2012 12:14 PM

      I think I want to go with a chandelier. Crystal maybe. It’s a girly room. I wish I could get back to this project. The basement has been taking up all of my time. Thanks for reading!

  2. February 15, 2012 9:19 PM

    It is looking BEAUTIFUL and I love the stencilling. I was contemplating doing something similar in our dining room but I was intimidated by the amount of work involved. I LOVE the effect in your office, though, so maybe I should reconsider?? Back to the point, though: it looks awesome; really terrific job!

    • February 17, 2012 9:56 AM

      thanks! I think making a stencil is the way go. I have a similar project in mind for the upstairs hallway, but there is no way I painting it by hand again! You should go ahead with the dining room project, a treatment like this should be in a room where you can show it off 🙂

  3. February 7, 2012 9:15 AM

    Holy cow you’ve been BUSY!

    I can’t get over how awesome that wall looks, and that you did it by hand. I’d be cursing myself, the paint, the brush, the blogger who had the idea originally…

    Those Expedit shelves are allll over blog land right now it seems. I guess they really are handy!

    • February 7, 2012 9:19 AM

      Thanks! I’m excited to see the whole finished product, with the new mirror, rug, light fixture etc….but all I see is $$ 😦

  4. February 7, 2012 5:58 AM

    Hi, your office space is looking lovely, I really like the wall paper idea- though does seem rather labour intensive! You made me laugh, when you said that you have just discovered IKEA, I live in Sweden, and IKEA is our second home, I take there kids there some afternoons for entertainment and a snack, and we sometimes even go either just for dinner or lunch. We’ve even done the pilgramage to the first ever IKEA store, in Almhult, and to the IKEA museum!

    • February 7, 2012 9:11 AM

      There’s an IKEA museum? Wow, I had no idea! I have to go back because I need to buy a few more hooks for the kitchen, and I need some inspiration ideas for the basement. Very excited to take my husband with me. I’m glad you like the wall 🙂 It is very labor intensive, but I really like how it’s turning out.

Trackbacks

  1. Home Office: Pinterest Inspiration Take 2 « A Home In College Hill
  2. The nerve of that squirrel! « A Home In College Hill
  3. The good, the bad and the ugly…. « A Home In College Hill
  4. Home Office Progress: Pinterest Inspiration, IKEA and a Pottery Barn class « A Home In College Hill
  5. Reader Room Design: Decal Wall Treatment « A Home In College Hill
  6. Happy V-Day My Way « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

