Skip to content
Fail: A smooth-top range repair

January 27, 2012

We have been functioning with one working burner on the stove for about…..6 months? I really don’t know how we did it considering that I cook 4-5 nights out of the week. I know why we did though, because I am a member of ‘procrastinate until it’s unmanagable” club.

You’ve heard it before. I sort of like having a zillion projects going on at once though because there’s always something to work on – the exact thing my husband hates. Opposites attract, right?

We have a glass-top range – not my favorite, I would prefer gas. This is what we have though, so we make it work. Some how, the back left burner, fell, or dropped from underneath the glass and was hot and illuminated but no longer parallel with the stove surface, and so, it could not effectively cook anything. I have no idea how this happened. When the repair guy saw it he was dumbfounded too, because they are clipped in with metal hooks which are screwed shut. How did we manage to do this? It’s not like we are jostling the stove. It’s one of those appliances that doesn’t improve with banging or smacking.

Then, about 2 months later the large burner in the front that has a dual dial that can make it two sizes burnt out the inner size. So when we turned it on all that heated up was the outside ring which is about 1/4 in thick. Making this burner unusable.

Finally, the front right burner started to turn itself off when it got too hot. Awesomeness when you are trying to boil water – which started taking 20 minutes or more.

There were just so many projects going on and things to spend money it was neglected until 10 days ago. I browsed YELP and other internet resources are picked an appliance repair company.

BAH! They charged almost $300 smackaroo’s to fix the burners. The whole range is only worth $600- $800 new.

So while the guy was at the house giving me the crazy estimate, I ask him to break down the bill, you know LABOR and MATERIALS. This is where is got a little crazy.

Materials = $110. OK that’s fair, I can deal with that.

Labor = $162.50. UHHHHHH excuse me? What? You’ve been here for 15 minutes.

Since the appliance repair company doesn’t double as a private charity, I looked around for other offers. What I found out is that is just how much it costs.  What a rip off.  If we had the extra money I would just buy a gas range but the basement is sucking up all of our money at this point so we had to go ahead with the repair. At least I can cook with two pans at the same time…

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 28, 2012 6:52 PM

    Oh lordy, that’s pricey!

    We have a smooth top stove, and we bought it on purpose. I love how easy it is to clean, and that my big wood cutting board sits nicely on top when it’s not in use.

    I have heard of someone who had their glass top shatter, though. Scary.

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

