Skip to content
A Beautiful 1928 Tudor Home

January 13, 2012

I had some one on Old House Web ask me for pictures of my parent’s home during a discussion about furnishing doors in a 1934 Tudor because the original doors were removed by a previous owner. One of the remaining doors in the attic of the poster’s house was identified as a “Miracle Door” by another user. Apparently they were mass-produced after 1910 and Jeld-Wen is bringing them back.

One of the cutting-edge building products that burst on the scene after 1910 was the “Miracle Door”-so-called because its single flat panel surrounded by contrasting woods was a startling break with the five- and six-panel styles of the time. Now Jeld-Wen Windows and Doors has brought back the Miracle door in an original design from the 1920s that is as historically appropriate for Jazz Age houses as it is up-to-date. Jeld-Wen

There is a Miracle Door Co. in Detroit, MI that manufactured these doors during the time period my parent’s home was built, and so it’s a good chance this company is the source of the doors in my parent’s house. I was asked to post some pictures of their home since it is a beautiful example of a Tudor with decorative plaster moldings, high ceilings, a sweeping staircase with a landing, leaded and stained glass, and natural woodwork. The only ones I have on hand are from my wedding. We took photos in the foyer, dining room and landing.

Here they are (Orris Photography):

The view from the street with festive Halloween decorations

The door to the breakfast room from the foyer

view from the landing

You can see the plaster fruit, flower, and vine moldings in the dining room

A 'miracle door' in the background

The landing with the leaded glass window

The landing

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    February 13, 2012 10:19 PM

    Wow, that is interesting info on the Miracle Door. I have been looking at your blog after we bought a 1934 Tudor Revival in Pleasant Ridge, MI. We don’t have those doors in our new house, but the previous two 1927 houses that I have lived in (and still own/rent since the housing market won’t let us sell) have what seem to be the Miracle Doors that you show here. I don’t know how much time I spent trying to figure out if I could get replacements doors for those houses. I ended up being able to cut down some extra doors I found in the garages of each houses (I assume that were removed from the kitchen) to the right size for what I needed. I will definitely write this info down in case I need it again.

    • February 14, 2012 10:03 AM

      Thanks for following along. There is a great place in Ypsilanti called Materials Unlimited that carries salvaged miracle doors. It is an antique store/salvage shop that also sells light fixtures, fireplace mantels, door knobs etc….Everything you need to rebuild your vintage home. We will be picking up some doors for the basement. If you want notification of future posts you can subscribe by email. It’s in the right side bar. Stop back again 🙂

  2. Craig permalink
    January 19, 2012 12:38 PM

    My house has those identical doors you illustrate as the “Miracle Door.” Very interesting… Unfortunately, a previous owner removed all the doors except two! Then replaced them with cheap, hollow, 80’s era doors. I am so pissed about it. But I figured I could try and track down replacements someday. Now I have a lead — Thanks! 🙂

  3. Jen M permalink
    January 18, 2012 6:54 PM

    Hi Rachel , it’s tudorrevival from Old House Web. Thank you so much for sharing these pictures. Your parents’ home is stunning. So many gorgeous details. Thank you as well for the link to the Miracle door manufacturer!

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

