Skip to content
Basement Framing Finished

January 11, 2012

The basement framing is finished! I am now ready to take a much-needed break. We have had workmen in our home almost non-stop from November 1st to December 23rd. The progress on the basement was fantastic, but the rattling walls, jack hammering, and other construction noise was deafening. Not to mention that they would always show up right when I was on a call with my boss (I work from home), or in my pajamas. So we are very excited to be taking a break from all of the basement projects for a few weeks. I have to remind myself that I control the pace and the flow of the work – so if I want two weeks off, I’m going to take it.

A few things to note:

  • We used pressure treated wood on the sole plates. Any wood that touches concrete need to be pressure treated to prevent the moisture that moves through the concrete from molding or mildewing it.
  • It took way more wood than we estimated! $$$$
  • The basement was covered in sawdust and concrete dust – pain the butt to clean.
  • We took advantage of the space and framed out a box in the wall so that the radiator will sit in an alcove – that way, furniture can be pushed flat against the wall.  I don’t have a photo right this moment – but I promise to post one.

Here are some pictures of the progress, they are a little dark – we only have two working lightbulbs down there now. Next step is electrical:

The new laundry room

The new furnace room

The new bathroom with our tiny tub

The cuby under the stairs

This will be a cabinet and desk area at the bottom of the stairs

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Felix permalink
    June 7, 2012 2:24 PM

    Nice. I plan to insulate my basement with the pink foam from HDepot as well. What thickness did you use? Did you overlap two boards or was it just under the window?

    It looks as if your framing is several inches away from foam-board… any reason for that? I imagine given the foam + gap + framing + drywall will render close to a foot of less living space all around. Or maybe I’m just seeing it wrong.

  2. February 27, 2012 5:15 PM

    Looks good… we’re thinking of starting this project in our home sometime this spring. I’ll be keeping tabs on your progress!

  3. January 11, 2012 2:44 PM

    How exciting! Good for you for taking a break when you know you need it, though. I wish we had the opportunity for a finished basement, but ours is far too damp and gross.

    • January 11, 2012 2:48 PM

      We had to do some major waterproofing to even make it possible, check out the B-Dry posts. I did see that your house is from the 1800’s, so it’s probably hand stacked stone walls which would make it almost impossible. I’m totally jealous of your high ceilings and giant windows though!

Trackbacks

  1. Decisions, Decisions: Shower Tile « A Home In College Hill
  2. Basement: Before/After Photographs « A Home In College Hill
  3. A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

