Skip to content
I Dedicate This Post To My New Miter Saw – I LOVE YOU

April 13, 2011

For whatever reason I decided this weekend (to be exact Saturday at 4pm) to install crown molding in the kitchen. A little late in the day to start a project, but when inspiration hits you have to take action!

The problem was…….I have never installed crown molding before, we don’t own a miter saw/miter box or a saw in general, and Geoff was sick and no help. I decided to do it anyway 🙂

I measured the amount of material we would need by taking individual measurements of each wall section at the ceiling height. Our house is old, so I made sure to measure where on the ceiling exactly each piece would go. The walls are not plum or square (a fact which came back to bite me later!) so this was key. I headed out to Home Depot to buy some decorative crown and a miter box/saw combo. I tend to like ornate things, so I bought the most ornate crown I could find that was still appropriate for the house.

While I was there, it immediately became clear that a $100 miter saw is way more bad ass than a $50 miter box. So I bought a Ryobi compound miter saw with a laser guide – my new favorite toy!! I also picked up 15ft of pre-primed crown molding (why not, it makes life so much easier), 2 tubes of paneling caulk, 1 tube of white trim caulk.

I set everything up in the garage when I got home, and the saw instruction manual was pretty easy to read (I’m a woman so I ACTUALLY read it).

I did watch some great video’s on how to cut crown molding on You Tube. Seriously, this saved me because I would not have known what I was doing other wise. It’s all about the upside down and backwards, and cutting the crown the way it sits on the ceiling. Please, by all means, if you are going to take on this project and have no experience, check out these videos:

Everything was going OK until I got to the really wavy drywall. Someone did a terrible “remodel” (more of a remuddle) of the kitchen. I’ve complained about this in previous posts, but a farmhouse kitchen has no place in a Tudor – I am slowly getting rid of all of the country and bringing in the elegance. The real problem was their sloppy drywall job: wavvvvvy drywall which made it impossible to have tight corners if the crown was going to be flush with the wall. I had to fill in some of the gaps with joint compound.

I’ve put up all of the pieces I am going to for now, except I am stuck on one piece! This is the worst corner in the room. The wall isn’t level, the cabinet isn’t level, the corner isn’t square and the ceiling isn’t level. I have cut several pieces and tried to fit them in here. I finally pieced it together with 3 pieces. I will be spending a lot of time filling in the gaps with joint compound and caulk. I even tried coping the corner, which helped a little but still couldn’t fix the problem. We ended up have a small hand saw in the basement I didn’t know about so I was able to use this as a coping saw.

To learn how to cope, watch this video. It will make all of the inside corners much easier on the rest of the kitchen.

I also added a strip of trim under the soffit to make it look more like it was built in for a purpose.

I caulked and painted the rest of the crown and it looks great (except for that one piece)!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig permalink
    March 31, 2014 7:18 PM

    I was putting up crown molding over the weekend too. Coping is key– especially in an old house.
    Good job

  2. Hailey S permalink
    May 22, 2012 3:57 PM

    Wow, that’s impressive work I must say 🙂 I was also afraid to put up crown moldings but I bought this tool from one of the homeshows, and it made the job easy. I think they sell it online but I’m not too sure. This is their website.
    http://www.angleoneshot.com

    • May 22, 2012 6:10 PM

      Thanks! I will check out that tool. We have to work on the trim for the basement remodel soon. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  3. lydiab permalink
    April 4, 2012 1:36 PM

    Wow, this looks great! you;ve given me the courage to tackle my crown molding project in my own house.

  4. February 20, 2012 9:45 PM

    Wow! Great job and great post! Definitely saving that one because, that’s right – I have some crown molding going up soon! Thanks for all the effort of putting this post together!

    • February 20, 2012 10:11 PM

      Thanks for stopping by and linking up! I need to make a table just like yours for my printer to sit on in the office. Nothing I could buy would be the right dimensions. BTW I love that you used a jig, router and table saw to make your table – I totally need to get a Kreg jig 🙂

  5. February 15, 2012 2:23 PM

    I am SO IMPRESSED! I only WISH I had some mad skills to do same; I’ve got a ceiling project in my living that has been on hold forever because I’ve been too much of a chicken to start. Maybe I ought to just take the bull by the horns? What’s the worst that can happen?? (famous last words … 🙂

    • February 15, 2012 3:36 PM

      I have to admit that this project is partially on hold too. We have to knock out a wall in the kitchen and I can’t finish it up until that is done. With the basement nearing completion I should be able to use the miter saw for finish trim 🙂 sounds like fun.

  6. April 14, 2011 2:03 AM

    Great job! I hope to be doing these kinds of things myself in the near future if I get my old home.

Trackbacks

  1. A Home In College Hill
  2. Ladies….pick up a hammer « A Home In College Hill
  3. Ladies, « A Home In College Hill

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

