Skip to content
Repair or Replace Windows?

March 16, 2011

Update: I got some good advice on the Old House Web forum and watched a few videos about re-glazing, and I think I may be able to tackle this project myself. Something new to start in the coming weeks! I alway slike have at least 5 projects going…haha.
I found some links for interior storm windows that may be our best option for energy efficiency:
16MAR2011:
I spent some time researching restoring or replacing our original steel casement windows but I haven’t found much. All of the information is for wood windows. The original windows in our house are steel casement, 1/2 of they have broken/missing hardware which needed to open them. We do have the original screens, which is great. We put them up last summer and opened the windows on the 1st floor that had still had functioning hardware. But then the winter came…..and our heating bill was over $500/month with the house at 60 degrees. Our house is tiny too, less than 1300sqft. There were storm windows in the garage with tried to put up in the fall but none of them fit into the window openings, I think as the house settled the window frames changed and the storms no longer fit. I can try to plane them down for next year.
The real issue is not the broken hardware or ill-fit storms, it’s that the windows have not been maintained by previous owners and are rusted and falling apart on the side that face the outdoors. The metal has been eaten away on some and I have not idea how to fix or restore rusted metal windows.

I did find one company in MI that can come out and do the work on the house, and it’s $100/hour including driving time (45 minutes away). So just to pay the driving time for the guy is $200.

What do I do? How would I even remove/replace them? They are plastered into the wall, there is no trim to remove and pop them out.
They are beautiful windows that really add to the house, and I’d like to keep and restore them, and make the house more energy efficient.

I do have one more lead after calling around today:

Turner Restoration out of Detroit MI. I will be calling Jim Turner this afternoon.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacy permalink
    April 22, 2015 6:15 AM

    Thank you very much for this post.

    As I am in the same boat, I would love an update with photos if possible.

    I am in the Detroit area.

    Did you complete your project? Are you pleased with the results? Did you do the work yourself or did you use the company you linked above? Will you share average cost information?

    Thank you again for this post!

    • April 22, 2015 9:00 AM

      We did not replace the windows. We decided to keep them and restore them. I consider them to be historically significant to the house. Once they are reglazed, painted, and weather stripped they will function very well.

  2. September 19, 2011 5:21 PM

    What did you end up going with for the interior storms for the windows. We just moved into a 1928 tudor in Milwaukee, WI. Nervous about the upcoming winter heating season.

  3. March 16, 2011 4:08 PM

    This post has been removed by the author.

I want to know what you think, so please share your thoughts

